Labels: A Mediterranean Journal By Evelyn Waugh


Labels: A Mediterranean Journal By (author) Evelyn Waugh ISBN:9780140188370

Out of stock

SKU: 9780140188370 Categories: ,


Evelyn Waugh chose the name Labels for his first travel book because, he said, the places he visited were already ‘fully labelled’ in people’s minds. Yet even the most seasoned traveller could not fail to be inspired by Waugh’s quintessentially English attitude and by his eloquent and frequently outrageous wit. From Europe to the Middle East and North Africa, from Egyptian porters and Italian priests to Maltese sailors and Moroccan merchants – as he cruises around the Mediterranean his pen cuts through the local colour to give a highly entertaining portrait of the Englishman abroad.
‘A travel book totally free of any Mediterranean mystique… Waugh’s observations are totally honest, wise as well as clever, and practical.’
Kingsley Amis

Labels: A Mediterranean Journal By (author) Evelyn Waugh ISBN:9780140188370


Additional information

Weight 213 g
Dimensions 17 × 129 × 198 mm
About the Author

Evelyn Waugh was born in Hampstead in 1903, second son of Arthur Waugh, publisher and literary critic, and brother of Alec Waugh, the popular novelist. He was educated at Lancing and Hertford College, Oxford, where he read Modern History. In 1928 he published his first work, a life of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, and his first novel, Decline and Fall, which was soon followed by Vile Bodies (1930), Black Mischief (1932), A Handful of Dust (1934) and Scoop (1938). During these years he travelled extensively in most parts of Europe, the Near East, Africa and tropical America, and published a number of travel books, including Labels (1930), Remote People (1931), Ninety-Two Days (1934) and Waugh in Abyssinia (1936). In 1939 he was commissioned in the Royal Marines and later transferred to the Royal Horse Guards, serving in the Middle East and in Yugoslavia. In 1942 he published Put Out More Flags and then in 1945 Brideshead Revisited. When the Going was Good and The Loved One preceded Men at Arms, which came out in 1952, the first volume of 'The Sword of Honour' trilogy, and won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. The other volumes, Officers and Gentlemen and Unconditional Surrender, followed in 1955 and 1961. In 1964 he published his last book, A Little Learning<



Paperback / softback

Readership Level